THE COLLAR CITY

In addition to the strong presence of the early American steel industry, Troy was also a manufacturing center for shirts, shirtwaists, collars and cuffs. In 1825, a local resident Hannah Montague, was tired of cleaning her blacksmith husband's shirts. She cut off the collars of her husband's shirts, since only the collar was soiled, bound the edges and attached strings to hold them in place. (This also allowed the collars and cuffs to be starched separately.) Montague's idea caught on, and changed the fashion for American men's dress for a century. Her patented collars and cuffs were first manufactured by Maullin & Blanchard, which eventually was absorbed by Cluett, Peabody & Company. Cluett's "Arrow shirts" are still worn by men across the country. The large labor force required by the shirt manufacturing industry also, in 1864, produced the nation's first female Labor Union, the Collar Laundry Union, founded in Troy by Kate Mullany.

Community Calendar

  1. Realize Troy - City Summit Launch
    Thursday, May 28, 2015
    1976 Burdett Avenue
  2. Realize Troy - City Summit Visioning Days
    Friday, May 29, 2015
    1450 Fifth Avenue
  3. Zoning Board Meeting
    Tuesday, June 02, 2015
    Troy City Hall | 433 River Street 5th Floor
  4. City Council Meeting
    Thursday, June 04, 2015
    City Hall | 433 River Street, Suite 5
  5. Planning Commission Meeting
    Tuesday, June 16, 2015
    City Hall | 433 River Street, Suite 5
  6. Finance Committee Meeting
    Thursday, June 25, 2015
    City Hall | 433 River Street, Suite 5
  7. Zoning Board Meeting
    Tuesday, July 07, 2015
    Troy City Hall | 433 River Street 5th Floor
  8. City Council Meeting
    Thursday, July 09, 2015
    City Hall | 433 River Street, Suite 5
  9. Planning Commission Meeting
    Tuesday, July 21, 2015
    City Hall | 433 River Street, Suite 5
  10. Finance Committee Meeting
    Thursday, July 23, 2015
    City Hall | 433 River Street, Suite 5
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. »