TROY, NY is home to twelve public schools in the Troy and Lansingburgh Central School Districts, and several private schools and academies serving pre-school through grade 12. The city also has three colleges – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Russell Sage College and Hudson Valley Community College.

Troy Public Schools

Troy Schools provide a strong educational and social foundation to graduate all students, college and career ready.

Troy School District

  • Elementary Schools [School 2, School 14, School 16, School 18]
  • Middle Schools [Troy Middle School, Carroll Hill]
  • High School [Troy High School]

Lansingburgh School District

  • Elementary Schools [Turnpike, Rensselaer Park]
  • Middle Schools [Middle School, Knickerbacker]
  • High School [Lansingburgh High School]

Charter Schools

Troy Preparatory Charter School
Serves students from grades K-12

Private Schools

Catholic Central High School
Catholic Central High School is a coeducational, college preparatory school. Serving students 7-12.

Emma Willard
Since 1814, Emma Willard School has been one of the nation’s leading college-preparatory boarding and day schools for young women. Serving students 9-12.

LaSalle Institute
La Salle Institute is a Catholic school, established in 1850 in Troy by the Brothers of the Christian Schools, serving young men in grades 6-12.

Sacred Heart School
Serves students from PK-6.

Oakwood Christian School 
Serves students PK-12.

Redemption Christian Academy
Founded in 1979, Redemption Christian Academy serves students PK-12.

Susan Odell Taylor School 
Serves students PS-6


Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
The oldest degree-granting technological university in North America, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) was founded in 1824 “for the purpose of instructing persons in the application of science to the common purposes of life.” Rensselaer has become one of the world’s premier technological research universities.

Russell Sage College
Russell Sage College was founded in 1916 by Margaret Olivia Slocum Sage and named in honor of her late husband. Russell Sage College is a comprehensive four-year college for women offering bachelor’s degrees in the liberal arts and sciences as well as selected professional fields.

Hudson Valley Community College
HVCC is a state and locally supported two-year college. Founded 1953, and part of State University of New York System, Hudson Valley Community College offers excellent academics, state-of-the-art technology, and rich facilities.

Educational Centers

Educational Opportunity Center (EOC)
Since 1966, the Capital District Educational Opportunity Center (EOC), a division of Hudson Valley Community College, has offered tuition-free academic and workforce development opportunities to economically disadvantaged and educationally under-prepared New York State residents 16 years and older for more than thirty seven years. As a result, thousands of Capital Region residents have acquired the skills necessary to gain employment, to succeed on the job, and to develop self-confidence in their own potential.